Skip to content
October 18, 2010 / Lauren

The way things are.

Continuing on my recent theme of Texas stuff, here’s the sitch- we’ve lived in Texas since 2007, and it’s fine/okay/meh/whatever, but we have never really wanted to live here forever and ever amen.  This is the reality of the situation, ultimately:

So it seems we’ll be here in the Lone Star state for at least a few more months/years/Don McLean songs.  Maybe I will even start to kind of like it.  (I try, I really do! Living here is slightly more fun than getting punched in the Fallopian tubes.)

In the meantime, Eric and I have a bit of a disagreement about what kind of house we would like to own here in the future. My ideal first home:

 

Idyllic, no?

 

His ideal first home:

 

We could call ourselves the MehKinneys.

 

Lucky for us, this disparity of opinions is solved easily by reality.  Here’s what we can actually afford:

 

I could really dress this place up with a window box.

 

That is the way things are.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go pitch a reality show to TLC.  It’s called Nun Of Your Business and it features Sister Mary Bernice O’Catechism, a web savvy cloistered nun who doles out social media marketing advice to struggling small business owners.  I think I’m on to something here.

Leave a comment