Skip to content
February 3, 2011 / Lauren

‘Homa is where the heart is.

I have a major life update. No, I am not pregnant. Nor did we adopt a puppy or purchase a home.

I think I’ve made it somewhat clear that I am not the world’s biggest fan of living in Dallas. Eric and I have always wanted to move back to Oklahoma and “settle down” at some point, and in late December, the powers that be (which is what my blog name would be if my last name were Powers, by the way) allowed me to begin searching for a job in Oklahoma.

And then I got one! And it seems so perfect for me! Success!

However, for a variety of reasons beyond our control, this transition has been a little insane. Our actual move is staggered over an entire month. So until we get our new place in Tulsa, Eric is tying up some loose ends in Dallas and I’m living with Frank and Estelle Costanza my parents and the head of the West household, Olivia Newton-John, the obese wonder cat:

The Newt.

I am so happy to be back. I have been singing this song all week:

You see, I am completely, creepily, eerily obsessed with the great state of Oklahoma. I am in love with this place and its people and their character.

Examples:

•A couple of months ago I got all excited at Borders because I thought I saw a cookbook with an Oklahoma silhouette on the cover, and upon further inspection I found out it was the outline of a meat cleaver.

•When asked what I want for my birthday or Christmas, my answer is almost always “Frankoma!”

•Living in DFW, I secretly missed being annoyed by all of my favorite local commercials and their corresponding awesome jingles- including, but not limited to: Mathis Brothers, May’s Drug/Drug Warehouse, David Garrett (he effin’ knows what to do), Snow’s Furniture, ClearTone (ding!), and Reasor’s.

•I pride myself on the depth of my knowledge of Oklahoma state facts. (State reptile? The collared lizard, of course.)

•During my three and a half years in Texas, I continually read Oklahoma blogs.

So yeah, it’s good to be home, though I’m definitely ready for Eric to join me up here. Please do excuse me for not writing very much lately. Between the move, the blizzard (use your own snow pun), two huge freelance projects (I’m just a girl who can’t say no- I’m in a turrible fix!), and my annual winter cold/upper respiratory lung mutiny, I’ve been just a tad busy lately. In the meantime, I do tweet quite a lot (sometimes it even makes a little sense!)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. K Bone 17 / Feb 5 2011 8:37 am

    I am sooo effing excited!!!!

  2. hannah / Feb 15 2011 1:19 pm

    my favorite oklahoma state fact that has stuck with me since i was in high school is oklahoma’s state drink. milk!

    on a sidenote: i find it odd that upon moving myself to texas, i have subsequently become lactose intolerant. coincidence or NOT?!?

Leave a Reply

