Skip to content
October 14, 2010 / Lauren

Mum’s the word.

I have lived in Texas for over three years now.  There are things I like about Texas, and things that I think are crazy.  “Aren’t you from Oklahoma?  How different could those cultures possibly be?” you may ask.  Well, as the Texas tourism people will tell you, here in Texas, it’s like a whole ‘nother country.

First, there’s this:

“Oh my gawd, yall! The football thang just happened!”

I’m not even going to get into that sparkly big haired mess- but I am going to discuss something else that goes along with Texas high school football.

Mums.

It’s a homecoming tradition around these parts for boys to give girls flowers- metallic ribbon covered, teddy bear adorned, twenty pound fake crysthanamum necklaces, to be exact.  I have blurred these poor children’s faces in an effort to protect their innocence while still showing you, faithful reader, how gaudy/awful/huge the mums are:

Let’s mumbo.

These bedazzled faux flora monsters take over my local Hobbity Lobbity each October- you know, approximately halfway through the HobLob Christmas season.  I think Texans have a knack for taking something simple and nice and turning it into a massive, gaudy mess.  No offense, Texans.  Okay, okay, offense totally intended

(Sidenote: I know the story about Teddy Roosevelt and the history of teddy bears, but I still think it’s way bizarre that bears are a symbol of love and innocence.)

I love you.

So I will try my best not to snicker when I see youths weighed down by their teddy bear covered mums, and I will quietly add homecoming mums to my list of things that exist even though they make no sense at all.

Dallas, mummified.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Heath / Oct 14 2010 10:12 am

    hahahahahahahaha, Love the bear, “I love you” hahahahaha

  2. Kristy / Nov 5 2010 7:43 pm

    My friend Rebekah had mums! She’s from the Dallas area. Also, I would like to point out that this ferocious bear looks delightfully fuzzy, and his head is shaped like a heart. So if you cover up his vicious snarling teeth, he could be a symbol of love…

    • Lauren / Nov 8 2010 8:39 pm

      I like your perspective! He is a beacon of love and light.

  3. The Style Sisters / Sep 30 2012 10:06 pm

    We didn’t like the mums at first either but then you live here for awhile and it starts to grow on you….no pun intended hahaha…I am sorry you have taken offense to the mums….but I would like to ask you to remove the photo of my daughter and her friend…she found this while searching and was kind of bummed out. It is the second photo on this post.

    Thanks a bunch 🙂

    The style sisters

    • Lauren / Sep 30 2012 10:29 pm

      I hope your daughter and her friend recovered from being mummified.

Trackbacks

  1. The way things are. « Fiddlepit
  2. ‘Homa is where the heart is. « Fiddlepit

Leave a Reply

