Skip to content
January 3, 2012 / Lauren

Find the Mirrealtor

There’s a corner of my mind which is fixated on residential real estate. When I was growing up, my dad was a teacher, and all summer long we would work on the house. Home Depot was our hang, curb appeal was our thang. We painted trim and built fences and laid sod. Okay, so maybe he did those things and I occasionally handed him a hammer or something. Whatever.

My family didn’t have cable until I was a teen, and I rejoiced when we finally got it- not because I wanted my MTV, but because I could now spend 5 hours a day watching DIYers put up wainscoting in a classic ranch house dining room. I think you already know I was a weird kid.
.
I am happy to report that the McKinneys are buying a house. A dwelling. A shanty to call our very own. House Hunters has been preparing me for this moment for years. (House Hunters International, slightly less so.)
.
It looks like this:

When I see the house, I sing Whitney Houston. "AND IIIIIIII-EE-IIII..."

I tell you this because 1) I am thrilled and cannot contain my excitement and 2) I want to let you in on my new favorite game. It’s called “Mirrealtor” and you look at houses online (I recommend Zillow or Trulia) and find a Realtor in the reflection of the bathroom mirror. I played this game throughout my two week Christmas break. One Realtor = one point. As I looked through dozens and dozens of homes online, this game became almost as exciting as actually, you know, looking at the houses. I know I’m a freak, but I found the Mirrealtors hilarious and each time I would find a Mirrealtor, I saved the image to my computer in a folder called “Hello there”. I don’t know why. I guess so I could share the joy of Mirrealtor hunting with you? Because I love you? And I’m super desperate for blog fodder?
.
With a little bit more pointless ado, I present to you some of the fine Mirrealtors of the greater Tulsa area:

Look closely, this is a rare double Mirrealtor.

Just a casual, prayerful Mirrealtor. Mreal without ceasing, etc.

All Mirrealtors must wash their hands before returning to work.

"Sinks to the left of me, showers to the right, here I am, stuck in the mirror with you..."

The headless horseman.

Keepin' it mreal.

Is this a pediamirrealtor? (Tweenz love Mirrealtoring.)

This one confuses me SO MUCH. But that's exactly what makes it so fantastic.

Whatcha got in that fanny pack? Keys? Batteries for your camera? Business cards? Mashed potatoes?

Now that is one sly Mirrealtor. Mission Impossible ish goin' down.

50 bonus points to the woman IN THE SHOWER.

I love them. They try to avoid being in the shot, but they cannot escape. I dare you to try to find more Mirrealtors. Please link to any great ones you find. Oh, and happy 2012, etc.
8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Danielle / Jan 3 2012 7:10 pm

    LOVE IT!

  2. Jenn K. / Jan 3 2012 7:52 pm

    Love the Stealer’s Wheel reference! That’s awesome!

  3. Beth / Jan 3 2012 9:00 pm

    You are my favorite.

    • Lauren / Jan 4 2012 7:59 pm

      No, you ah my favorite!

  4. Katie / Jan 4 2012 8:04 am

    Congrats on the house! And, this is genius.

  5. Ashley / Jan 4 2012 4:06 pm

    Congrats on the house. Love the mirrealtors. My favorite thing was the mashed potatoes comment, though 🙂

    • Lauren / Jan 4 2012 7:58 pm

      Thanks! I can’t wait to do some Ashley Sullivan-esque projects in it!

  6. Anonymous / Jan 9 2012 12:05 pm

    This is so funny! Congratulations on your new house. I was thinking about you so I logged on to see what was up. So glad I did. 🙂

    Carol

Leave a Reply

