Skip to content
September 28, 2011 / Lauren

Is a Picture Worth a Thousand Words?

Guitar Hero was first released in November of 2005. I was 20 years old.

In November 2005, my friends and I would pile into my Saturn and drive to Edmond’s Wal-Mart Supercenter in the late evening, at which point we would play Guitar Hero on the display TV until 3:00am. Our band of collegiate hoodlums would grab bar stools from Homewares, drag them over to Electronics, and plant ourselves right in front of the XBox/TV set up right in the middle of the electronics aisle. Around 1:30 or so, a guy would ride by on one of these:

Dry Zamboni? John Deere with Swiffer attachment?

…and grace us with the dirtiest looks possible. I maintain that he was simply jealous. He probably had the game at home and couldn’t make it to the expert level. I would be upset, too.

After weeks of this nonsense, some friend of mine finally broke down and purchased the game. (Whoever that was: thank you.) Our group played every night. I adored it- this is probably because Guitar Hero is the only video game I’ve ever been able to actually play. You see, in those gun shooting games, I always wind up trapped in a basement corner, gun pointed at the ceiling, unable to move until one of the bad guys kills me 15 seconds into play. I move the controller around (Wii style) and expect the XBox to know what I am doing. It doesn’t work that way. In car racing games, I am seemingly emulating Helen Keller’s driving style. It was only while playing Guitar Hero that I could demonstrate any kind of gaming greatness. I honed my skill and won most challenges. I was on top of the world.

I bring all of this up because I want to show you guys my favorite picture. Now, I don’t mean my favorite picture with me in it. I mean my favorite picture in the history of photography. My friend Kasey snapped this shot in the era of Guitar Hero greatness.

Ahem.

Everything about this picture is perfect. The UCO poster framed on the wall. The weird college furniture. My exposed kneecap bursting out of my pants.

Obviously, at this moment in time, Michael and I were coming up on a guitar solo (likely in a Journey song) and we decided this particular jam merited some back-to-back rocking out. Mid maneauver, I inadvertently hit Danielle in the face with the neck of my guitar. The picture was snapped milliseconds before I realized I had just Hero’d my friend in the face.

Danielle confesses that to this day, she is afraid to eat ice cream in the same room as a person playing a video game. I’m so sorry, Dan Dan. I’m so, so sorry.

Kasey was gracious enough to take this photo (from the same era) as well.

Now, I don’t remember this incident at all, but apparently a group of wayward blue-violet cones were somehow magnetically drawn to my head. I tried my best to fight them off in order to breathe, but it looks like they won. They always do.

Do you have a favorite ridiculous photo? I want to see it! Link to it below.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ashley / Sep 30 2011 10:45 am

    Ooooh I loved this post. I definitely laughed A LOT. I have a few favorite ridiculous pictures, and surprisingly, they all involve either Hanna Howard or Bailey Jones. Here is one that has both. And I love it because it’s 100% candid.

    • Lauren / Oct 12 2011 4:12 pm

      Oh. My. Lawd.

      That is beautifully hilarious. I’m impressed.

  2. Heather Fowler / Oct 12 2011 4:53 pm

    After reading this and truly thinking about it, I realize that ALL of my photos are RIDICULOUS. This realization brings me much joy because it pretty much means that I have the most ridiculously hilarious friends ever. Anyways, I thought it would be appropriate to chose a pic from the same era. This is Jamie and I on our cell phones. Thank goodness technology has now shrunk them down enough to where they can squeeze in our purses. 2005 you were so good to me. Enjoy!

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/photo.php?fbid=513045830321&set=t.44007461&type=1&theater

    • Lauren / Oct 12 2011 4:56 pm

      Your cell phones > banana phones. Do you remember the pink razor phone that you lost in a UCO parking lot in an FNL sketch that I wrote that turned out to be extremely insensitive and hurtful? Oh yeah, that happened.

  3. Heather / Oct 12 2011 5:05 pm

    Oh yeah, I forgot…and playing Guitar Hero until my contacts completely dried stuck to my eyeballs is one of my all time favorite memories!

  4. Amanda / Oct 13 2011 11:59 am

    The wait for these pictures was well worth it. I was so excited when the pictures I had heard so much about were found! These should never be lost again. They should be treasured for all eternity, and I can totally relate to being stuck in a basement with my gun pointed at the ceiling and desperately trying to lower my head but all I’m doing is spinning in circles, and then the screen goes red and I’m back to square one.

  5. Danielle / Nov 11 2011 9:29 am

    iloveitiloveitiloveit. man i miss those days!!!

    • Lauren / Nov 12 2011 1:35 pm

      Seriously. I miss being extremely irresponsible. Once it’s gone, you can’t get it back!

Leave a Reply

