Skip to content
November 4, 2010 / Lauren

Recipe for success.

I just pulled some cookies out of the oven, and I’m 99% sure they are going to taste like doody.  The dough was kind of runny and it tasted like Swedish fish.  (NOT the candy.)

Cookies are easy.  It’s hard to mess up cookies- but I have this problem.  I find a recipe, and naturally, I have all but one necessary ingredient in the pantry.  Instead of going to the grocery store, I think, “I’ll substitute a quasi-similar ingredient!  I’m so clever!”

And it never fails.  The finished product comes out tasting like haggis and/or an old sock.  All hell breaks loose. Mothers hide their children.  People brave enough to sample my baked goods begin to look like this:

Now the asscookies have cooled, and they taste as foul as I suspected.  So here I am, using all my might to chisel the “cookies” off the baking sheet, and reminding myself of the value of following instructions.

I MUST learn to follow instructions.  I MUST.

What is your worst baking catastrophe?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kristy / Nov 5 2010 7:57 pm

    I made cookies that smelled so much like playdough I had to hold my breath to eat them.

    Also, I thought biscuits would grow in the oven like cookies, but they don’t. I made biscuits so small the entire batch fit on a salad plate.

  2. stumbleana / Nov 6 2010 1:59 pm

    One Christmas I confused a ginger with a gingerbread man.

    • Lauren / Nov 8 2010 8:39 pm

      Which one tastes better?

  3. stumbleana / Nov 6 2010 2:00 pm

    One Christmas I confused a ginger for a gingerbread man.

Leave a Reply

